Women’s Lacrosse Loses GNAC Title Game

Women’s Lacrosse Loses GNAC Title Game

PROVIDENCE, R.I. – Regis College lost to Johnson & Wales University, 14-5, Saturday afternoon in the championship match of the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) Women's Lacrosse Tournament at the Scotts Miracle-Gro Athletics Complex.

Regis' season ends with a 15-3 overall record, tying the program record for most wins in a single season and setting a new team record for highest winning percentage at .833. Johnson & Wales improves to 16-4 and earns the GNAC's automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament, with the full bracket to be announced Sunday night, May 5.

Johnson & Wales did not waste any time in taking the lead, as Juliana Giello and Dani Lydecker scored in the first 1:03 of the contest. After a goal by Allison Pazienski extended the Wildcat advantage to 3-0, Kerri Anselmo (Natick, Mass.) provided Regis' first goal of the afternoon on a free-position attempt.

The Wildcats quickly responded as Lydecker set up Marley Medina for a goal 20 seconds after Anselmo's tally. Johnson & Wales would increase its lead to 7-1 before Taylor Assarian (Arlington, Mass.) set up Brooke Ross (Hanover, Mass.) for a goal with 10:05 remaining in the first half.

Pazienski would earn consecutive goals late in the first half, and then Medina assisted on a goal by Madeline Bishara with 22 seconds remaining in the half to give the Wildcats a 10-2 halftime lead.

Lydecker scored two goals in the first six minutes of the second half to bring the Wildcat lead into double digits, but Anselmo once again converted on a free-position opportunity to chip into the Pride deficit. Alyssa Kelly (Lee, Mass.) scored back-to-back goals in the span of 1:11 late in the second half to close out the scoring for Regis.

Brittany McPherson (Lynn, Mass.) tied her career high with 15 saves, including nine saves in the second half, as she attempted to keep the Pride close. McPherson joined Anselmo and Kelly on the GNAC All-Tournament team.

The GNAC postseason awards will be announced Monday, May 6.