Men's Lacrosse Pulls Away In Second Half, Tops Daniel Webster For NECC Title

Men's Lacrosse Pulls Away In Second Half, Tops Daniel Webster For NECC Title

WESTON, Mass.AJ Karofsky (Barrington, R.I.) delivered a game-high four goals to lift the Regis (Mass.) men's lacrosse team to its second straight New England Collegiate Conference Tournament title, a 12-6 win in the championship game over Daniel Webster, Saturday at Regis Stadium.

The Pride (7-9) and Eagles (8-6) locked horns for the first two periods and headed into halftime deadlocked at 6-6, but it was Regis who settled in and shutdown Daniel Webster in the second half. The Pride held DWC scoreless for the final two quarters and slowly pulled away to capture the win.

Following the victory, D.J. Barrile (Medford, Mass.), Colby Connell (Warwick, R.I.) and Nick Romig (Dedham, Mass.) were named to the all-tournament team with Brandon Mehler (Bay Shore, N.Y.) voted tournament Most Valuable Player. Barrile posted 10 saves on the afternoon with James Bushy (Hamden, Conn.) stopping five of his shots on goal for the Eagles. Mehler added two goals and two assists as did Calvin Brault (Colchester, Vt.) and Danny Rancano (Miami, Fla.).

Tre Mason (Kelowna, B.C) was the high scorer for DWC with three goals.

DWC netted the games first two goals when Tanner Todd (Henderson, Nev.) and Matt Ho (Vancouver, B.C) both created space for themselves to score past Barrile. Brault assisted on the Pride's first goal then scored his first as the two teams closed the first period at 3-3.

The second quarter saw an even goal scoring effort as well. The Pride took the lead three times only to see the Eagles bounce back to tie the game. Mason's goal with 4:15 left until the half knotted the score at 6-6 which held up until halftime.

Daniel Webster did not back down in the second half but it was the Pride who would take advantage of its goal scoring opportunities and hold strong defensively. Karofsky scored three times in the second half and twice in the fourth quarter as the Pride pulled away for the win.

All-Tournament Team

Colby Connell (Regis)
Nick Romig (Regis)
D.J. Barrile (Regis)
Tre Mason (DWC)
Tanner Todd (DWC)
Anthony D'Urso (DWC)
Brian Jordan (Mitchell)
JD LeMay (Mitchell)
Trey McMillan (Becker)
Bryan Parsons (Becker)

Brandon Mehler (Regis) - Most Valuable Player